Southern Nevada Section

      42nd Western Regional Meeting ~ 2008




After a lapse of 19 years it was time for the local section to put on the Western Regional Meeting.  After two years of planning the event came to pass.

The 42nd Western Regional Meeting was held at the Riviera Hotel and Convention Center in Las Vegas, Nevada from September 23-27, 2008.  The gathering was hosted by the ACS Southern Nevada Section. Over 600 scientist, engineers, educators and students attended this meeting.

All those involved need to be congratulated for putting on such a smoothly run meeting.  Also of note is that the meeting came in on budget and ran a small surplus. 

Scenes from the Exhibition




David Emerson (General Co-Chair WRM 2008) and ACS President-elect Thomas Lane at the Meet and Greet opening session.





William Lester Jr. (UC Berkeley) Recipient of the Stanley C. Israel Award for Advancing Diversity in the Chemical Sciences




Judith Ann Flint Baumwirt, a Granada Hills, CA High School Teacher is the 2008 winner of the ACS DivCHED Western Region Award for Excellence in High School Teaching




At the Banquet (from left to right) Jeanette Van Emon (USEPA) General Co-Chair WRM 2008, Banquest Speaker Bruce Bursten ACS President, David Emerson General (UNLV) Co-Chair WRM 2008



(fron left to right) Jeanette Van Emon (USEPA) General Co-Chair WRM 2008, E. Ann Nalley Past President ACS, Onofrio (Dick) Gaglione Arrangements & Facilities Co-Chair WRM 2008, Shirley Emerson (UNLV) Treasurer WRM 2008



John Gerlach (Chelonia, Inc.) Exhibition Co-chair and E. Ann Nalley Past President ACS



MaryKay Orgill of UNLV, Education Co-Chair WRM 2008 (on left)



and last but certainly not least the UNLV student representatives from the Chemical Interactions ACS Student Affiliate Chapter: (from left to right) Victor Barragan, Daniella Sandoval, Hanna Magno, Josué Dueñas.